# Flex vs Livble for Property Managers

> Flex vs Livble for multifamily operators adding split rent: two installments or four, what residents pay for each, and how each connects to your PMS.

Canonical: https://webpossible.com/property-management-software/rent-payments/flex-vs-livble/
Source: https://webpossible.com/property-management-software/rent-payments/flex-vs-livble/
Format: Markdown version for AI agents. The canonical HTML page is at the source URL above.
Last verified: 2026-10-04

---

Property Management Software · Rent Payments

# Flex vs Livble for Property Managers

By Ryan York · last verified 2026-10-04

Flex and Livble, fact by fact, from the shared vendor database. Each fact links to its source and shows the date it was checked.
| Fact | Flex | Livble |
| --- | --- | --- |
| What it is | Flexible-rent platform: the resident pays Flex in two installments and Flex pays the property in full on the due date through the PMS portal; free to operators, resident-paid fees; offered across 11.7M+ units. [source](https://getflex.com/properties) | Split-rent product letting a resident pay rent in up to four installments timed to payroll while the property is paid in full on time; loans originated by Lead Bank; offered to operators and software platforms via API. [source](https://www.livble.com/) |
| Pricing model | Free to property managers and operators; resident pays $5.99/month membership, 0.5% processing fee, an additional 2.5% credit-card surcharge and a split fee of up to 3%; no late fees [source](https://getflex.com/) | Resident-paid finance charge of $30 to $60 per split depending on when rent is submitted; property cost not stated [source](https://www.livble.com/) |
| PMS integrations | [Yardi](/property-management-software/integrations/yardi/), [RealPage](/property-management-software/integrations/realpage/), [AppFolio](/property-management-software/integrations/appfolio/), [Entrata](/property-management-software/integrations/entrata/), [MRI Software](/property-management-software/integrations/mri/), [Rent Manager](/property-management-software/integrations/rent-manager/), [ResMan](/property-management-software/integrations/resman/) [source](https://getflex.com/properties) | Not published |
| Segments | Institutional Multifamily, Small Multifamily, Student Housing | Institutional Multifamily |
| Also known as | – | – |
| Website | [getflex.com](https://getflex.com/) | [livble.com](https://www.livble.com/) |
| Profile | [Flex review](/vendors/flex/) | [Livble review](/vendors/livble/) |

Flex and Livble are the two split-rent products a multifamily operator compares when late rent, not collection, is the problem. One of the prompts we track puts the decision in the operator’s words: Flex vs Livble for letting residents split rent into installments, which should a multifamily operator offer? Both work the same way at the top level. The resident chooses to pay in pieces, the provider fronts the rent, and the property is paid in full on the due date. Neither charges the operator in our database. The resident pays, and what the resident pays, how many pieces the rent splits into, and how the product reaches your portal are where the two differ. This page puts them side by side from our vendor database and the research behind the [rent payments guide](/property-management-software/rent-payments/).

The case for either starts with the numbers in the research. A Multifamily Dive report on flexible rent quotes Leslie Hyman of Circa saying 25 to 30 percent of people pay late and site teams are stuck chasing those payments. Flex’s own page puts the cost of an eviction at up to $10,000 before vacancy and re-leasing. An operator who believes either figure is a candidate for one of these products.

## Where each fits

Flex’s record describes a flexible-rent platform where the resident pays Flex in two installments and Flex pays the property in full on the due date through the PMS portal. Its site says it is offered across more than 11.7 million units and works with over 3,000 property managers, with setup in about 30 minutes and, in its words, “no new workflows, no technical lift.” Its segments in the database are institutional multifamily, small multifamily and student housing. The [Flex profile](/vendors/flex/) carries the dated sources.

Livble’s record describes a split-rent product that lets a resident pay rent in up to four installments timed to payroll while the property is paid in full on time. The loans are originated by Lead Bank. Livble sells to operators and to software platforms through an API, and its partners page promises “Rent Certainty,” a launch “in days,” and a revenue stream for software platforms that add it. The resident selects Livble as a payment method in the tenant portal. Its only segment in the database is institutional multifamily. The [Livble profile](/vendors/livble/) has the rest.

The PMS is where the two separate most clearly. Flex lists Yardi, RealPage, AppFolio, Entrata, MRI, Rent Manager and ResMan in the database, and its site names Aptexx as an integrated portal partner. The research also records Flex embedded in Zego’s portal and resident app. Livble names no PMS integration in our database. It describes reaching residents through tenant portals and software platforms generically, so the question for Livble is whether your portal or payments vendor has already added it. The [Yardi](/property-management-software/integrations/yardi/), [AppFolio](/property-management-software/integrations/appfolio/) and [ResMan](/property-management-software/integrations/resman/) integration pages show every category that connects to each system.

The split is the other difference. Flex splits rent into two payments. Livble splits it into up to four, timed to the resident’s paydays. A resident paid every two weeks can line up Livble’s installments with each check. A resident who needs one bridge in the middle of the month is the case Flex’s two-part split describes.

## Pricing models

Both are free to the operator as far as either vendor publishes. Flex states it outright: free to property managers and operators. Livble does not state a property-side cost, so ask.

Resident pricing is published for both, and it is shaped differently.

-   **Flex** charges the resident a $5.99 monthly membership, a 0.5 percent processing fee, an additional 2.5 percent surcharge on credit cards and a split fee of up to 3 percent. It charges no late fees.
-   **Livble** charges the resident a finance charge of $30 to $60 per split, depending on when rent is submitted, on a loan originated by Lead Bank.

Flex’s fees are a stack of a flat membership and percentages, so the resident’s monthly cost rises with the rent. Livble’s is a flat charge per split within a published range, so on a higher rent it can be the smaller number and on a lower rent the larger one. Ask each vendor for the resident’s total cost on your median rent, and ask each to state it as an annualized rate, because that is the figure a resident advocate or a regulator will compute.

The research records that Multifamily Dive counted 43 pages of Better Business Bureau complaints about Flex in January 2023, and that Flex’s resident fees stack. A product that costs the operator nothing still costs the operator something when residents bring the complaint to the leasing office.

## What to ask each in a demo

1.  **Who carries the risk?** If the resident misses the second installment, or the fourth, is the property ever asked to return funds? Get the answer in writing.
2.  **How does it reach our residents?** For Flex, confirm the integration for your PMS and whether payment arrives through the portal, a virtual debit card or a bank transfer. For Livble, ask whether your current portal or payments vendor already offers it, and if not, what the API launch involves on your side.
3.  **What does the resident see?** Ask each to walk through the fee disclosure screen by screen, at your median rent.
4.  **Who is the lender?** Livble names Lead Bank. Ask Flex the same question, and ask each who handles resident disputes and collections.
5.  **What happens at renewal and move-out?** Ask how an outstanding installment is handled when a lease ends or a resident transfers.
6.  **What do you report back?** Ask whether the property sees which residents use the product and whether it changes delinquency in its own reporting, so you can measure the result.

## What the Index shows

The Index table at the foot of this page carries both vendors’ figures from the current edition of the [AI Shortlist Index](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/). Our reading is that ChatGPT reaches for Flex as its example of split rent and names Livble mostly when a prompt asks for split rent or for an alternative to Flex. The rows for [Flex](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/flex/) and [Livble](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/livble/) show each prompt and the sources behind the answers.

## Which fits you

Flex fits an operator who wants a split-rent option live on the PMS it already runs, with no technical work on the operator’s side, and whose residents mostly need one mid-month bridge. It also fits small multifamily and student housing, which are on its record and not on Livble’s. Its resident fees are the thing to disclose clearly.

Livble fits an operator whose residents are paid every week or two and need more than two pieces, or a software platform or payments vendor that wants to embed split rent in its own portal. Its flat per-split charge is easier to explain than a stack of fees, and its lack of named PMS integrations is the thing to resolve before you sign.

If both fit, the question to settle is cost to the resident at your median rent, because neither vendor charges you.

If you need a collection platform rather than a split-rent layer, the [ClickPay alternatives page](/property-management-software/rent-payments/clickpay-alternatives/) covers the full field, and the [rent payment vendor list](/property-management-software/rent-payments/vendors/) has every vendor’s fees and integrations in one table. Flex and Livble sit on top of whatever collects the rent, so you may need both kinds.

If you sell a payments or split-rent product and want to know why a buyer’s shortlist includes you or skips you, [AI visibility for proptech companies](/ai-visibility-for-proptech-companies/) explains what we measure each month and what the fix costs.

## How often do AI answers put Flex and Livble side by side?

In the October 2026 edition, ChatGPT and Claude gave 50 answers to the Rent Payments questions, and 8 of them named both Flex and Livble. When both were named, Flex came first in 8 and Livble in 0.

Flex and Livble in the Rent Payments answers, October 2026 edition, one run per prompt on each engine.
| Answers that | ChatGPT | Claude | All |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| named Flex | 7 of 25 | 6 of 25 | 13 of 50 |
| named Livble | 5 of 25 | 5 of 25 | 10 of 50 |
| named both | 5 of 25 | 3 of 25 | 8 of 50 |
| put Flex first | 5 | 3 | 8 |
| put Livble first | 0 | 0 | 0 |

### What the answers say about the pair

> “If you’re on RealPage/LOFT or another Livble-supported portal, compare the actual integration and contract terms before choosing: Livble may be the smoother embedded experience, while Flex has broader listed integration coverage.”
> 
> ChatGPT, answering rpy-cmp-02 “Flex vs Livble for letting residents split rent into installments: which should a multifamily operator offer?”

> “Short answer: Flex is the safer default for most operators.”
> 
> Claude, answering rpy-cmp-02 “Flex vs Livble for letting residents split rent into installments: which should a multifamily operator offer?”

> “Livble is the better fit if you run RealPage or Buildium, or you want 3–4 installments.”
> 
> Claude, answering rpy-cmp-02 “Flex vs Livble for letting residents split rent into installments: which should a multifamily operator offer?”

The answers that named both cited 53 sources: 27 vendor websites, 25 other sites and 1 trade publication.

These counts come from one run per prompt on each engine, so one answer moves them, and they update with each edition. Quotes are verbatim sentences from the recorded answers, picked by rule rather than by hand. Each vendor's prompts and sources are on its Index row: [Flex](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/flex/) and [Livble](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/livble/). All Rent Payments rows: [Rent Payments in the AI Shortlist Index](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/).

## Where do Flex and Livble rank in AI answers?

Rent Payments, October 2026 edition: 50 runs, one run per prompt on each engine. Mention rate is the share of runs that named the vendor, leaving out prompts that name it in their own text; rank is among all 34 vendors in the category's ranking. These figures update each edition.
| Vendor | Mention rate | Rank | Prompts naming it |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Flex](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/flex/) | 20% | 4 | 7 |
| [Livble](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/livble/) | 17% | 6 | 4 |

The prompts that named each vendor, and the sources behind them, are on its row. Full table: [Rent Payments in the AI Shortlist Index](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/).

## What do these vendors leave off their own pages?

-   [Livble](/vendors/livble/#claim): no published property management system integrations

Vendors can fill these in by claiming their profile; claimed details appear as a labeled vendor-supplied section next to the sourced facts.

## Which vendors do AI answers name most in this category?

In the October 2026 edition, across 50 recorded runs, the engines named Zego (43%), ClickPay (30%) and PayNearMe (22%).

The live ranking, source map and every vendor row: [Rent Payments in the AI Shortlist Index](/ai-shortlist-index/rent-payments/).

Part of [/property-management-software/rent-payments/](/property-management-software/rent-payments/).

Last verified 2026-10-04
